Understanding Aperture

On Thursday’s lecture, alongside working with flash, we looked at aperture in more detail. During the lecture, I finally understood the importance of aperture in my images as well as how changing it can improve my work.

The higher the F stop, the less light is allowed into the sensor making the image darker as a rule. This also means that the image is likely to have a more shallow depth of field because the background is usually left in darkness, so the focus becomes the foreground.
Similarly, if a smaller F stop is used, the image is lighter, and generally has a wider depth of field. I found this image helpful as it very simply shows the aperture size depending on F stop numbers:

Aperture-f-Number.png

What is aperture?

To get a further understanding of how it works, I took a simple image of a cup several times, each time increasing the F stop. This resulted in the image getting progressively darker.

dsc_2546dsc_2548dsc_2554dsc_2557

From top to bottom, the F stops used were 4, 8, 13, 16, 22. I think these pictures give a clear idea on how aperture effects the lighting, particularly in the background of a picture. With this basic knowledge, I think I can more confidently use aperture (with  and without flash) and I can change my aperture to give a specific effect to an picture.

Leave a Reply

