A Photo Story – Cheltenham Guardians Shoot 2

On Saturday 4th of February I joined The Cheltenham Guardians again for a night shift. This shift lasted from 11pm- 6am. The Guardians weren’t overly busy, but the lighting in the situations I attended with them was generally a lot brighter, and therefore better to shoot in than the lighting from the previous week.

I used the same camera ( Canon 70D), lenses (25-105mm and 50mm) and speed lite. I shot less images as there were less incidents, and several of which happened at the same time so I wasn’t able to be at all of them. From the 104 I formed an edit of 25.

ContactSheet-001.jpg

There was only one Guardian I hadn’t seen before, so I took her portrait to add to the collection of portraits. I used the same ISO, aperture and shutter speed with a fill in flash to create the same effect. I also shot the portrait in the same location to make it more fitting with the others.

Below is the collection of portraits to date.

During my first shoot, I tried different angles including dropping down to take pictures of the subjects’ feet. I tried the same technique on this shoot, and I personally think I was more successful because the lighting was better.

img_8306img_8327

I think these were considerably sharper than the ones I took on the previous week. I think photographing the feet is an effective way to show the kind of subject the Guardians were dealing with (gender, potential financial status etc.).

I tried to take more detailed pictures of the Guardians themselves too. I think these were successful as I didn’t use flash. The reflective strips on the jackets that they wear would reflect the flash and result in over exposure on them. However, the lighting I used to take the more detailed images was the same as above.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

These images are before post production. I think I will try to brighten them during post production as they are a little dark; the close up of the number is particularly dark. However, I think these images would be good next to a more contextual shot in a photo story as they are more detailed, and only show the Guardians which is ultimately  what my photo story is about.

img_8274

This image was not planned and that explains why it is so dark. The Guardians were helping a lone woman and she used the car to balance. The image was shot through a window with a shutter speed of 1/80, an aperture of 4 (the lowest aperture available with the lens) with a zoom of 80mm and an ISO of 6400. I like the back lighting which silhouettes the hand to some degree. I would try to make the image brighter during post production. I think this image may be good as an opening to the story if there was text explaining the story on it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I think either of these images would make an effective establishing shot for the photo story. The background scene of the car is a little over exposed as the lights in the shop window were considerably brighter and whiter than that of the tungsten street lights. However, I think the car clearly stating ‘Guardians’ on it would make it immediately clear to the audience what the subject of the photo story is. Alternatively, I think that the image of the Guardians walking a man to a bench would establish both the Guardians and their work, again making it clear to the audience immediately. I took this image from a slightly lower angle as I thought it may make the Guardians look bigger, and possibly more heroic. I don’t think this worked as well in that sense, however I think it enables more of the background to be seen, so the audience can see other people on their night out which provides more context.

img_8367

The image above was one of my favourites of the night. I think that this is largely down to the white shop lights which brightened the whole scene and eliminated any lighting problems I’d faced throughout both shoots. I took multiple images of this scene standing up. Although this showed the scene of both friends and Guardians helping out the drunk female, I found them quite boring. I decided to drop down again to take a picture of the Guardians and the woman’s friend helping. I think this shot is a lot more impact full and may make the viewer feel more like they could be there, in the action. I also think that it’s an effective way to show the scene without taking a picture of the drunk woman.

Below I have included a slideshow of other images taken on the night:

Leave a Reply

