AD4802 – A New Photo Story

Yesterday I received an email from the Cheltenham Guardians which I have posted below:

Hi Amy,
I hope today finds you well. With immediate effect we have had to put a hold on all journalist ride-alongs. This unfortunately covers yourself as a student photojournalist.
I hope to be in a position in the near future where we can find a workaround to this. Should (if and when) this happens I will let you know.
Amy, it has been a pleasure having you with us for a couple of shifts and I hope that this has contributed positively to your coursework.
If I can be of assistance now or in the future please do not hesitate to get in touch.
Best Regards,
Terry
Unfortunately, this means that I will no longer be able to document their positive work in the community and will have to find something else to do for my photo story.
After some consideration, I have decided to start again with something completely new. This is for a few reasons:
  • I was struggling with lighting when I went out with the Guardians and as a result, a lot of the images were noisy and of no use. I am seeing this as an opportunity to find a new story which hopefully I will find less challenging technically in order to produce a strong photo story.
  • I had considered documenting nightlife in Cheltenham, however I have decided that this kind of story has been done many times and is has become a cliche.
  • If I had decided to go out to document the nightlife, I would have more than likely been on my own, therefore putting myself in potential danger without the safety of The Guardians ensuring my safety.
  • Finally, it had been suggested to me to instead document the Cheltenham night time economy. More specifically, females in the night time economy. This would have included security guards, bar managers etc. This would have allowed me to use the portraits of the female Guardians I have already taken. However I felt that this lacked narrative, and I wouldn’t want a story of exclusively portraits

 

I have contacted a few other potential options for a new photo story, and will keep this blog updated on the outcome of the messages I have sent. The places I have contacted are:

  • The Potthouse Cheltenham – This is a pottery workshop with professional potters who make both their own pottery and teach beginners how to throw pots.
  • The Chapel – I have contacted the Chaplin of the University Chapel to document him and his work in such an old and key part of the university.
  • The Butterfly Garden – The Butterfly garden is a recreational scheme, based initially on gardening, but now offering so much more. It is a project for people of all ages dealing with disablement of any kind. Its doors are open to anyone without obligation.
 

 

Leave a Reply

