AD4802 Photo Story- Shoot 5

On Thursday 16th March I went back to The Butterfly Garden for my final shoot. I wanted to get more detailed shots and less portraits as I felt like that was the main thing I had shot and that I had enough of them.

Again, I used a Canon 70D and took both a 50 and a 28mm lens which gave me options while I was there. The aperture and shutter speed settings varied depending on where on the campus I was shooting. I shot a total of 97 images and created an edit of 20 (shown below):

ContactSheet-001

I got there at around 1pm and lunchtime was still going on. On this particular day, they were all eating lunch together which made it a little chaotic and I wasn’t sure where to start. I started to focus on people’s hands as detail shots using manual focus again. I had the idea showing the ‘hands of helpers’.

I liked the detail that the manual focus allowed, particularly on older hands which generally had more wrinkles on them. Although I like this concept (I may use if in a future project) I don’t think the images would fit in with the rest of the series.

IMG_1654

Image settings: ISO – 100, F stop – 2.5, shutter speed – 1/50

I shot this image with the intention of continuing to show the recycling element of the project as all of the materials in this pot are being recycled or are helping to recycle. I particularly liked the lighting and colours in this shot. However, like the images of the hands, I’m not sure where it would fit within the majority of the images I have shot for the story.

IMG_1594

Image settings: ISO – 100 / F stop – 2.5 / Shutter speed – 1/80

I liked the expressions and the interaction between student and volunteer in this image. It has been shot through a window which is where the reflective spots have come from. Because I had to use manual focus (faulty auto focus on the lens), the fact I shot through a window, the speed of the moment as well as the slow shutter speed, I don’t think the image is quite as sharp as I’d have liked it to be. However, the woman is just about sharp. Although I think this image would work with the rest of the series, I would’t want to include something that may not be sharp. If I had of returned to re-shoot, I would’ve waited by this window more as I am sure more of the students would have posed for me.

After lunch, there was another puppet show. As I had already attended one of these, I knew what to expect as well as which students were particularly expressive; so I tried to position myself accordingly.

I tried to get a shot of the man who organises the puppet show, except he moves constantly so when using manual focus, this proved to be challenging. However, I think the portrait on the left was relatively successful, if a little dark. This is because it was shot in a particularly dark part of the room. I even reduced the shutter speed to 1/50 to try and brighten the shot but this unfortunately didn’t work. I think the two landscape shots would fit well within the rest of the images I have shot when I’ve been before. Again, I think that the facial expressions work well in these shots. In the bottom image of the man in the yellow jumper, the focus is on him. I think this works well because there is more context added through the other people in the room, but both the focus and the jumper lead the viewer’s eyes straight to the main subject.

Finally, my favourite shot of the day was this:

IMG_1606

Image settings: ISO – 100 / F stop – 2.5 / Shutter speed – 1/50

This shot is now in my final edit. I like how the fabric cuts the image in half, and how there is character in the shot although you can only see a small part of the students’ face. I think the image may be a little dark, but this can be edited during post production. There is slight motion blur in the puppets on the right of the frame. This is down to the slow shutter speed I was using in attempt to make the image bright enough in the dark, fluorescent strip lit room.  I also think that the contrast between the puppets and the human element works well. I think the shot also shows how childlike some of the students who would technically be considered adults can be because of their disabilities.

Leave a Reply

